Among the new privacy settings is the ability to control who sees each new status update a user posts: Everyone, Friends of Friends, or Friends Only.
Users can now hide each status update from specific people as well.
It was not a security breach and did not compromise user data in any way.
Because the code that was released powers only Facebook user interface, it offers no useful insight into the inner workings of Facebook.
If a Facebook user clicks 'No, thanks' on the partner site notification, Facebook does not use the data and deletes it from its servers.
Separately, before Facebook can determine whether the user is logged in, some data may be transferred from the participating site to Facebook.
When a Facebook user takes a Beacon-enabled action on a participating site, information is sent to Facebook in order for Facebook to operate Beacon technologically.
Information such as purchases made and games played were published in the user's news feed.
An informative notice about this action appeared on the third party site and gave the user the opportunity to cancel it, and the user could also cancel it on Facebook.
A "connection" is created when a user clicks a "Like" button for a product or service, either on Facebook itself or an external site.
Facebook treats such relationships as public information, and the user's identity may be displayed on the Facebook page of the product or service.
In 2010, the Electronic Frontier Foundation identified two personal information aggregation techniques called "connections" and "instant personalization".